RSS Feed

Think Before Suicide

Posted on

Though suicide is a self destruction form, indirectly it brings hurts to our loved ones. The Suicide Fish* mainly is the decision of a fish who loses his hope and will to live. Suicide seems to be the best solution to the problems we face in everyday lives. Refusing to acknowledge the truth causes self-denial leading to self rejection. Probably, we misunderstand the concern from our loved ones. They either speak the truth harshly or gently with a certain body language. Misinterpretation is similar to filter. As the air carries their words into our ears, we miss out some words. Losing the connected words causes the head and tail to become the conclusion.

Speaking to younger children is a challenge to the adults. Many adults complain their kids’ misbehaviour and lack of obedience. Throughout my experience, I realized my son tends to capture the last words and acts it out. “Don’t jump!” He will jump.

Conversation between my friend’s mother and helper is another good case of misinterpretation. The helper ever mentioned to her that she (helper) wanted to have four children whereas her friend has six children. She said the same thing to my mother in the next couple of days. When my mother commented my helper wants to have six children, I don’t believe. After I check out their conversations, I explain to my astonished mother.

Whenever I am going to attend workshops, voice recorder is the first thing I often grab on. When I listen to it again, I realised the in-between missing words.

Let’s take this article’s title as an example. “Think before suicide” is the theme of my topic. For example, “before” is the lost word to the recipient’s ears. So it will sound “think suicide”. Obviously, the recipients definitely will be upset and feel devalued resulting in angry person who may or may not commit suicide.

Isn’t it good to really open our ears to hear the speaker?

Think Before Suicide

Think Before Suicide

Rather than, thinking suicide, why not think before suicide?

* School Animation by our friend.


Inspiration On: 12 February 2014
Inspiration Ends On: 6 June 2014 at 5:45am

External links: http://whysuicidebook.com/
http://m.psychologytoday.com/blog/happiness-in-world/201004/the-six-reasons-people-attempt-suicide
http://www.afsp.org/understanding-suicide

About Yoshiko

I'm a housewife. My hobby is listening to music, watching movies and dramas, read Manga, and drawing. I enjoy watching Asian movies and dramas such as Japanese, Hong Kong, and Korean. Inspiration comes through my emotions and when I pursue my hobbies. How I wish my Song Lyrics can become a song. And I wish to learn piano, but I don't have the time as now I have a baby. Now, he is a cute and active four years toddler.

12 responses »

  1. Thank you for posting this, Yoshiko! We never know who will read our words and be helped by them. The film about the fish was very sad. I pray it will stop people from killing themselves, so that they will have the opportunity to hear Jesus’ message of forgiveness and life and hope in Him!

    Reply
  2. Interesting…we hear what we want to hear, maybe? I recall my Mom saying that at times…I believe that word “disciple” from the Greek means “to listen” I just found this on the internet:”In Isaiah 50:4 the writer says that God wakes him every morning and gives him attentiveness so that he can listen and learn. In this way he is like a disciple (כַּלִּמּוּדִים). Therefore, involved in the concept of being a disciple is a willing, listening, and obedient heart.”
    https://bible.org/seriespage/understanding-meaning-term-%E2%80%9Cdisciple%E2%80%9D

    Yori, I think you are correct…we need to listen to each word…

    I feel that suicide happens to a person because they feel so lost, misunderstood, abandoned and not loved—I had a very good friend who committed suicide. She suffered psychologically—but I think that occurred because she was rejected by her parents, and then beaten by an abusive husband…she could not find love…or, did not recognize it in herself. She was so intelligent–she had her 4 year degree as a Medical Technologist. She was kind and generous—yet, she killed herself–because she felt unloved…at least I think that was WHY. She has been dead two years now. I think of her often. I was afraid she would kill herself when I had heard from her that her new love did not want to be with her anymore. She lived in Texas, and I live in Wisconsin…many hundreds of miles apart. I tried phoning her, and there was no response. I tried writing to her, and there was no response. Then I stopped trying to reach her. Then I forgot about her—I was lost in my own world. It was not until 4 months later that I thought of her again…on her birthday…it was that day that I found out she had killed herself four months earlier and two days after my last attempt to reach her. I think IF ONLY I had not given up on her…IF ONLY I had tried to call her one more time, maybe she would be alive today.

    But I also think that God welcomed her home in LOVE. Because God knows life was too hard for her. I also think that we never know what we can do to help someone—we have to NOT give up on others…and sometimes, it is very hard not to. I am in a situation now with a person who treats me very badly and I still try to help this person. I know this person suffers from a mental deficit. Everyone else who knows this person has left. They want nothing to do with this person. They say I am crazy to stand with this person. But I will not give up.

    Thank you, Yori, for posting your thoughts on a very difficult topic.

    Reply
  3. Say, “Come, I will recite what your Lord has prohibited to you. [He commands] that you not associate anything with Him, and to parents, good treatment, and do not kill your children out of poverty; We will provide for you and them. And do not approach immoralities – what is apparent of them and what is concealed. And do not kill the soul which Allah has forbidden [to be killed] except by [legal] right. This has He instructed you that you may use reason….Quran 6:151

    O you who have believed, do not consume one another’s wealth unjustly but only [in lawful] business by mutual consent. And do not kill yourselves [or one another]. Indeed, Allah is to you ever Merciful….Quran 4:29

    Suicide is strictly forbidden along with the killing of innocents in Islam. God is the author of life and it is only He who could take life or tell human beings under what conditions a life should be taken such as in punishment for murder and spreading destruction and havoc in the land. As human beings we don’t own our lives, God does! As such we don’t have the authority to take it. Suicide is disrespecting God and being ungrateful for the life He has given us. God has made life sacred for human beings and all his creatures.

    Reply
  4. You are a very patient person, and considerate. Unfortunately those who committed suicide, might lack this kind of people around them. I do not know if we can blame anyone, but nevertheless we should always open our hearth to help as quoted by you. I like the example you have given related to your son, 论语有说,老吾老以及人之老,幼吾幼以及人之幼。

    Reply

We would love to hear your Comments

