RSS Feed

Why don’t Christians fast the same as Muslims?

Posted on

The reason Christians fast is summed up here.

altruistico

Both Muslims and Christians fast, but their purposes for fasting differ. In order to keep one of the Five Pillars, a Muslim is obligated to fast during Ramadan.

The Bible teaches that fasting merits neither God’s favor nor a place in paradise. Christians may fast for one of the following reasons:

• To demonstrate their satisfaction in God (Matthew 4:4)
• To humble themselves before God (Daniel 9:3)
• To request God’s help (2 Samuel 12:16; Esther 4:16; Ezra 8:23)
• To seek God’s will (Acts 13:2-3)
• To turn from sin (Jonah 3:5-10)
• To worship God without distractions (Luke 2:36-38)

Jesus fasted
At the beginning of Jesus’ public ministry, before His great miracles and teaching, He fasted forty days. Afterwards, the devil tested Jesus while He was weak with hunger: “And after fasting forty…

View original post 984 more words

About Yoshiko

I'm a housewife. My hobby is listening to music, watching movies and dramas, read Manga, and drawing. I enjoy watching Asian movies and dramas such as Japanese, Hong Kong, and Korean. Inspiration comes through my emotions and when I pursue my hobbies. How I wish my Song Lyrics can become a song. And I wish to learn piano, but I don't have the time as now I have a baby. Now, he is a cute and active four years toddler.

4 responses »

  1. I always thought the fast of lent was to remember the suffering of our Lord Jesus during the 40 days, and bring us closer to him.
    Leslie

    Reply

We would love to hear your Comments

